Township Government

  Township Assessor



The Township Government

A township is a political and geographical subdivision of a county and state. It is a municipal corporate body, that can own property, sue and be sued, borrow money and levy taxes in accordance with state statutes. A township's elected officials may act for the electorate in the township's name when conducting business. McHenry County is divided into 17 townships. Generally, there are eight officers in each township, elected for terms of four years: Supervisor, Clerk, Assessor, Highway Commissioner and four Trustees. The annual meeting of the township electors is held on the second Tuesday in April. Townships have many duties and some permissive powers. Services, which are expressly required of all townships, include providing for welfare assistance, buildings and maintaining rural roads and assessing property. In addition, townships may establish libraries, community buildings, recreation districts, cemeteries and youth committees.



© 2002-2016 Nunda Township
Website designed and maintained by NJS Enterprises, Inc.